Press Play: AFL Gamers Network launched

Zak Jones ESports

With no footy on, the AFL is hosting competition of a very different kind…

The AFL Gamers Network has been launched, a dedicated online hub for players to take their fierce gaming competitiveness to the online world.

With the global sports and entertainment industry currently on hold, the behaviour and needs of fans have evolved, with digital platforms and services more relevant than ever.

TLA’s footballers who are taking part in the series include Jack Viney (Melbourne), Zak Jones (St Kilda), Marcus Adams (Brisbane), Mitch Hinge (Brisbane), Deven Robertson (Brisbane), Brandon Starcevich (Brisbane), Ben Silvagni (Carlton), Jack Silvagni (Carlton), Tyler Brown (Collingwood), Jack Maden (Collingwood), Sam Draper (Essendon), Aaron Francis (Essendon), Jesse Hogan (Fremantle), Jordan Clark (Geelong), Jeremy Sharp (Gold Coast), Conor Glass (Hawthorn), Luke Jackson (Melbourne), Zak Butters (Port Adelaide), Justin McInerney (Sydney), Ryley Stoddart (Sydney), Harry Edwards (West Coast), Jack Petruccelle (West Coast), Matthew Suckling (Western Bulldogs) and Rhylee West (Western Bulldogs).

TLA’s PR and Digital teams were involved in the launch and are overseeing the program’s communications and social media management.

The AFL Gamers Network has also partnered with The Lockdown League, the brainchild of GWS Giants players Matt de Boer and Tommy Sheridan, who saw an opportunity to produce gaming tournaments when the season halted due to COVID-19 restrictions, with 30 AFL players gaming head-to-head in the first FIFA20 Esports competition.

Set to run daily between 2pm and 11pm most days, check it out via the AFL Gamers Network on Youtube.

Latest updates

12 May 2020

When sport returns, we're ready

“When sport returns, we’re ready.”

With the coronavirus lockdown restrictions slowly beginning to ease across Australia, we are in . . .

09 Mar 2020

Australia crowned ICC Women's T20 World Cup Champions

Many months of work across TLA came to a thrilling conclusion as the Australian Women’s Cricket Team were crowned . . .

23 Feb 2020

Scott McLaughlin races to another Superloop Adelaide 500 victory

TLA Supercars driver Scott McLaughlin has claimed his second consecutive Superloop Adelaide 500 title with victory in Race 2 at . . .

14 Feb 2020

Let's Fill the MCG for the Women's T20 World Cup

TLA have been proud to be involved in a number of activities urging Victorians to “Fill the MCG” on March . . .