Cotchin leads
Richmond Premiership

TLA’s Trent Cotchin has written his name into history books, becoming a dual Premiership captain leading the Richmond Tigers to their second flag in three years.

The Tigers stormed their way to their 12th Premiership flag overcoming Grand Final debutants Greater Western Sydney by an emphatic 89 points on a sunny Saturday at the MCG.

The Tigers tackled, harassed and drove forward with the relentlessness they have become renowned for throughout their three years of dominance, inspired by an unstoppable mix of genius coaching, tremendous individual talent and astonishing team cohesion.

Cotchin expressed his love for his club, but vowed to return to the premiership dais once more.

“This footy club means so much to me, the amount of love I have for the boys, our coaches and everyone that’s put their heart and soul into it it’s special,” Cotchin said.

“This result today wouldn’t determine our fulfilment… We continue to talk about our journey and it still hasn’t finished yet, it’s not the destination that brings happiness it’s the journey.”

Bachar Houli was exemplary from the Tiger’s backline, collecting 26 disposals and 6 tackles in a performance judged second best afield behind Norm Smith Medal winner Dustin Martin.

Fellow TLA Tigers Shane Edwards and Liam Baker gleamed in the premiership limelight as celebrations continued to Punt Road Oval and Swan street through the night.

It was an understandably tough day for the GIANTS, including captain Phil Davis who was raw in his assessment of the match.

“I was proud of being part of the Giants’ first Grand Final, but disappointed to lead the team in the way we did,” Davis said.

“I’m so proud of my whole football club, from the chairman all of the way through to my coach to my footy manager and especially my players… Hopefully we get a bit of luck and also we can improve. We need to get better because we want to be back.”

Fellow TLA footballers playing for GWS on the day included Tim Taranto (30 disposals), Aidan Corr (18), Adam Tomlinson (17), Brent Daniels (15), Adam Kennedy (11), Lachie Whitfield (14), Sam Reid (12) and Matt de Boer (12).

Please Note

A dedicated TLA UK website will be launching next year.

Sign up below to know more

In the meantime, visit our dedicated TLA UK page