Aaron Finch
named in ICC's T20I Team of the Decade

TLA superstar cricketer Aaron Finch has been named in the International Cricket Council’s T20I Men’s Team of the Decade, recognising a brilliant body of work over the past ten years.

Nine Australians in total were recognised by the ICC, representing the best of the best in world cricket.

The current Australian ODI skipper, Finch claimed his spot in the T20 side thanks to his 2,149 runs at a strike rate of 154.05 in 66 matches.

Finch was also nominated for the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade, with Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan named the winner.


ICC T20I Teams of the Decade

With a dearth of matches due to COVID19 putting paid to the usual Team of the Year awards, the ICC instead introduced a one-off edition of its annual awards program, aimed at celebrating the stand-out performers and moments from the past 10 years of international cricket.

Judges looked at performances between January 1, 2011 and October 7, 2020 when selecting the nominees and winners, and players needed to have made international appearances in the relevant format for at least five years throughout that period.

Winners were selected by a voting committee comprising prominent cricket journalists and broadcasters from around the world, including Alison Mitchell, Ian Bishop, Natalie Germanos and Peter Lalor, while fans also accounted for 10 per cent of the vote.

For the full T20I, ODI and Test teams of the decade, see here.